3 thoughts on “World Scholars Wednesday’s: Dominican Republic

  1. Hi Jevon:

    Congratulations to you for being a good speller, and for entering the school Spelling Bee Contest. You must be about 7 or 8 years old. It takes a lot of courage to get in front of a lot of people at that age…and spell a lot of words. You must be very smart, and you must read a lot too. You are an example not only for other students in your school and other kids in your community, but adults in the world, like me here in California.

    Jevon, I am a doctor and a teacher of medical students who are becoming doctors. My specific job is high-risk mommies who are going to have high-risk babies. What they call me no one knows except me: I am a Perinatologist (peri-na-to-lo-gist). It’s like when the police need help they call SWAT; when the regular doctors need help–they call me!

    You might ask: “Why would a doc in California be reading about Jevon in Chicago…and be proud of Jevon? Well, first of all, I believe in persons who dream and especially persons who speak their dreams, like YOU saying “You’re going to be the President of America.” I dreamed when I was 5 years-old of being a doctor and I am. I always studied math, science, history, reading, writing and everything with that dream in mind. I always believed if we can dream it, we can do it. This may be difficult for you to understand so maybe your teachers will have to help you get this: Only dreamers…are realists. Successful people are big dreamers in reality. Yet, most persons (and most students) don’t dream…they don’t have a dream. Isn’t that sad?

    So if you’re going to be the President of the United States, start solving problems now…here…in America…
    in education…in your own classroom. Talk to your teachers, to your fellow students and to all the parents you know–and tell them to DREAM…and to believe in their dreams, because dreams become reality.

    May God continue to bless you with goodness and strength, and may I be around to see your name as our next President of the United States of America. Congratulations to your parents too…Dr. Martinez

      • Thank YOU, Jevon, for your response. You are the very first person–student or teacher–there at VLA to take the time and make the effort to respond. It makes me very happy. More than that, though, your response is a sign of success. It’s how successful people make connections and create relationships. It’s like when you throw a small pebble into a large ocean…it makes waves felt on the farthest shore. I shall never forget you and your note. And I will tell all my friends–and all my girlfriends–about you too. And, yes, I will be looking out for your name election after election to see when I can vote for YOU. I promise you all the mom’s that come to me are first in God’s hands, and then in mine and well cared for with lots of love. God loves you and is blessing you “all-ways.” Thanks again…Rick Martinez

        P.S…Please tell your mom and dad and all your teachers–I am proud of them because YOU “speak” well
        of them via your goodness.

Leave a Reply

